December TBR: Tis’ the Season A’Thon & Currentathon

It’s December!

december GIF

December is great because I love Christmas, my birthday is on the 17th and it is the perfect time for cozy readathons ๐Ÿ’•

Here’s what my December plans look like:

  • A Christmas party at the Zoo on the 5th ๐Ÿ˜
  • Finnish Independence day celebration on the 6th ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ
  • Christmas shopping with a friend on the 16th ๐ŸŽ…
  • A day off work for reading all day on my birthday the 17th ๐ŸŽ‚
  • Travelling to Finland on the 19th โœˆ๏ธ
  • Christmas at my partner’s parents; a warm cabin in the middle of snowy woods, winter stuff like snowmen (!), lots of great food (vegan everything!) and sauna โ˜ƒ๏ธ
  • Relaxing at my mom’s after Christmas – and hopefully reading a lot! ๐Ÿ“š
  • New Years with my brother and dad ๐ŸŽ‰

What do your plans include? Are you celebrating Christmas? How about Hannukkah or Kwanzaa or New Years?

In Christmas I also hope to take part in a bunch of readathons! I’m co-hosting Currentathon and it will run for the entire month, Tis The Season A’Thon happens from 2nd to 8th of December and it challenges me to read Christmassy reads โœจ I’ll also take part in the December round of Magical Readathon although this round is all about surprising challenges within a story and so I can’t set a TBR for that one ๐Ÿ˜€

To Be Read in December

I’ll be doubling up on challenges across the readathons this month because my TBR is already way too ambitious! Look out for the following icons:

๐ŸŽง Audiobook

๐Ÿ“ฑ E-book

๐Ÿ“• Print book

โ˜ƒ๏ธ Currently reading

๐ŸŽ„ Not started yet

๐Ÿ“– Currentathon read

๐ŸŽ… Tis’ The Season A’Thon read

๐Ÿคฉ Can’t wait!

๐ŸŽ ARC

๐Ÿฐ Library book

28336005. sy475

I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai

Nonfiction, memoir, feminism

๐ŸŽง ๐Ÿ“– โ˜ƒ๏ธ

178 pages read out of 293

๐Ÿ“– Currentathon: Finish your current read

I can’t believe that I have taken so long to read I Am Malala, I’m loving it!

17332218

Words of Radiance (Way of Kings #2) by Brandon Sanderson

Fantasy

๐Ÿ“ฑ โ˜ƒ๏ธ

303 pages read out of 1087

Although I love WoR so far, I don’t think I have much hope in finishing this if I wan’t to get anything else read haha

A Little Life

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

Literary Fiction

๐Ÿ“• โ˜ƒ๏ธ ๐Ÿ“–

160 pages read out of 939

๐Ÿ“– Currentathon: A book that will make you feel most accomplished going into 2020

๐Ÿ“– Currentathon: A book that was gifted to you

Although my Finnish edition of A Little Life is absolutely massive, it would be great for so many challenges!

36374394

Sister’s Entrance by Emtithal Mahmoud

Poetry, politics

๐Ÿ“ฑ โ˜ƒ๏ธ ๐Ÿฐ

10 pages read out of 128

I have been wanting to get more into poetry and I have been reading a tiny bit of this on my phone, not enough to share my thoughts yet though!

20309175. sy475

My True Love Gave To Me edited by Stephanie Perkins

Short stories, contemporary

๐Ÿ“ฑ ๐Ÿ“– ๐ŸŽ…

112 pages read out of 321

๐Ÿ“– Currentathon: A book you started on someone’s recommendation

๐Ÿ“– Currentathon: A book you put down last December

๐Ÿ“– Currentathon: A book set in winter or a book with a wintery cover

๐ŸŽ… Tis the Season A’Thon: A book with snow on the cover

๐ŸŽ… Tis the Season A’Thon: A book title related to music

I started this Christmassy short story collection on Caro’s recommendation ๐Ÿ˜ I was absolutely loving it last year but didn’t manage to finish it by Christmas and I felt odd reading it at New Year haha. I’ll finish it this time!

38255337

One Day in December by Josie Silver

Romance

๐Ÿ“ฑ ๐ŸŽ„ ๐ŸŽ… ๐Ÿคฉ

409 pages

๐ŸŽ… Tis the Season A’Thon: A holiday themed book

I was recommended this by Eva @ Read While it Rains and I can’t wait to pick it up! I heard that it has a time jump which is one of my favourite tropes!

35965482. sx318

Middlegame by Seanan McGuire

Fantasy

๐Ÿ“ฑ ๐ŸŽ„ ๐Ÿฐ

528 pages

My hold for Middlegame is supposed to come in within the next 2 weeks! Although not very Christmassy, it will be perfect if I want to pick up something dark and spooky.

44603720

Swallowtail by Brenna Twohy

Poetry, mental health

๐Ÿ“ฑ ๐ŸŽ„ ๐ŸŽ ๐ŸŽ…

96 pages

๐ŸŽ… Tis’ The Season A’Thon: A book you received as a gift

More poetry for December! I was lucky enough to get an arc of Swallowtail and this will be perfect to catch up on my Goodreads reading goal. And yes, in my books getting an arc is equal to receiving a gift haha

34043787. sx318

The Life-changing Manga of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo

Manga, nonfiction

๐Ÿ“ฑ ๐ŸŽ„ ๐ŸŽ

192 pages

Another short read for boosting my reading challenge! I have never read the original Marie Kondo book so I’m hoping to pick up some cleaning magic from this manga.

45730152

Daughter from the Dark by Marina & Sergey Dyachenko

Fantasy

๐Ÿ“ฑ ๐ŸŽ„ ๐ŸŽ ๐Ÿคฉ

304 pages

I’m so fricking excited for this! I was lucky enough to get the arc and even though I probably should wait until January, I just might binge it this month!

23395680. sy475

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Scifi

๐ŸŽง ๐Ÿ“• ๐ŸŽ„ ๐Ÿ“–

602 pages

๐Ÿ“– Currentathon: Finish a reread

I’d really love to immerse read Illuminae by listening to the audiobook while reading it physically! I’m not sure if this will actually happen this month as immerse reading is pretty time consuming but I’d love to do that, previously I have only read Illuminae physically.

59716

To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf

Classic

๐Ÿ“ฑ โ˜ƒ๏ธ ๐Ÿ“–

127 pages read out of 209

๐Ÿ“– Currentathon: A book you put down this year

To the Lighthouse is back on my TBR for the 7th time in a row ๐Ÿ™ˆ I started it in May and I would really like to finish it already. But no promises, I’m struggling!

37538577

A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

Fantasy

๐Ÿ“• ๐ŸŽ„ ๐Ÿคฉ

368 pages

My TBR is already out of control but I have to add this one in, I’m just incredibly excited for it! I’m tempted to bring it with me to Finland.

Okay my TBR is way too ambitious and I’ll never get to all of these, but I love to have a bunch of options! I just want to have a great, chill December with a bunch of reading and celebrations!

What is on your December TBR? Do you think you’ll be reading more or less during December than other months?

Have you read anything that is on my TBR pile? Or are any of these also on your radar? I would love to know!

Wishing you a great reading month for December โค๏ธ

christmas snow GIF

Thank you so much for reading!

4 thoughts on “December TBR: Tis’ the Season A’Thon & Currentathon

  1. I was tempted to do the Winter magical readathon as well but I don’t know if I’ll be able to do it with my other three readathons! I was looking at reading My True Love Gave To Me as well. Sounds like a fun December planned! ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Like

  2. Looks like you have some great holiday things planned! ๐Ÿฅฐ๐ŸŽ„ I’ll be going to all the Christmas markets and baking gingerbread cookies with my grandmother ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m also participating in the Tistheseasonathon and the Winter Magical Readathon, I’m so excited for both of them! I’m also so honored that you picked up My True Love Gave to Me because of me! ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ’• I hope you end up enjoying the rest of the stories! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a comment